Publisher’s Weekly Review of ANA AND ZAK

Posted on Monday, 16th March, 2015

Ana and Zak are polar opposites: she’s a brainy, straight-A student focused on meeting her parents’ expectations, and he’s a geeky slacker coasting through high school on his way to community college. An extra-credit assignment throws them together at a quiz bowl championship in Seattle, where they spend a hectic all-nighter on a rescue mission after Ana’s younger brother runs away to a science fiction convention. With Zak as her guide, Ana plunges into the world of Washingcon, filled with cosplaying nerds of every stripe, where they are targeted by an angry mob of card-game collectors, hunted by a Viking, and held captive by a drug dealer—all before dawn. Peppering his novel with references to delight die-hard SF fans and pop-culture aficionados alike, Katcher (Almost Perfect) pens a love letter to fanboys and fangirls everywhere. On the surface, the story is a lighthearted and entertaining romance, but serious undertones explore the fractured side of parent-child relationships and misfit characters desperate to find a tribe. A delightful romp for anyone still figuring out where they belong. Ages 14–up.

Awesome Kirkus Review of ANA AND ZAK

Posted on Monday, 16th February, 2015

Two teens discover that their improbable chemistry is just what it takes for a probable relationship. Still adjusting to a new stepdad, slacker Zak has anxiously been awaiting Washingcon, a science fiction, fantasy, and comic book convention in Seattle. But when his health teacher (and quiz bowl sponsor) notices that he plagiarized his health paper, she offers him two options: fail health and not graduate or serve as an alternate on the quiz bowl team for their big tournament. Who really fails health? So he begrudgingly chooses the latter, despite it being the same weekend as his con. Hyperfocused Ana, who must be perfect to show her parents she’s not like her older sister who dropped out of high school to have a baby, has her doubts about Zak. After Ana’s younger brother and fellow quiz bowl member, Clayton, sneaks out to attend Washingcon, Zak and Ana begin a humorously whirlwind night searching for him. Their alternating viewpoints narrate how they dodge and outwit parents, felons, and other outlandish con characters. While Clayton constantly eludes them, Zak and Ana do find a connection through mutual loss, courage to stand up for themselves, and first love. There’s even fun at a “mixed” [my quotes] marriage (between a Star Wars and a Star Trek enthusiast)! Fans of Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist will find con-tentment here. (Fiction. 14 & up)

Book Signing, February 28

Posted on Tuesday, 3rd February, 2015

Come visit me at  The Book Warehouse of St. Louis, 17017 N Outer RD 40 Suite 151, Chesterfield, Missouri. February 28th, 1-3 PM. Can’t wait to see you!

ANA AND ZAK goes international

Posted on Friday, 12th December, 2014

spainbrazilgermanyturkey

Thanks to my wonderful editors, THE IMPROBABLE THEORY OF ANA AND ZAK will also be released in Spanish (Spain and Latin America), Portuguese (Brazil), German and Turkish! Wow!

Very Nice Review of My Works

Posted on Monday, 1st December, 2014

By fellow librarian John Clark. Read it here.

So sad…

Posted on Monday, 24th November, 2014

My thoughts are with the family of Michael Brown tonight. I can’t imagine what you’re going through.

Cover Reveal!

Posted on Friday, 17th October, 2014

anaandzak1

The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak, Katherine Tegen Books, May 2015!

THE IMPROBABLE THEORY OF ANA AND ZAK

Posted on Thursday, 9th October, 2014

Just got the ARCS for my new book, The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak, and they look great! Big thanks to Claudia Gabel and Melissa Miller for all their work on this. Here’s the back cover blurb:

when Ana Watson’s brother ditches a high school trip to run wild at Washingcon, type-A Ana knows that she must find him or risk her last shot at freedom from her extra-controlling parents.

In her desperation, she’s forced to enlist the last person she’d ever want to spend time with–slacker Zak Duquette–to help locate her brother before morning comes.

But over the course of the night, while being chased by hordes of costumed Vikings and zombies, Ana and Zak begin to open up to each other. Soon, what began as the most insane nerdfighter manhunt transforms into so much more…

The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak is Brian Katcher’s hilarious he said/she said romance about two teens discovering themselves on an out-of-this-world accidental first date.

AVAILABLE MAY 19, 2015, FROM KATHERINE TEGEN BOOKS!

Marriage Equality

Posted on Monday, 6th October, 2014

marriage-equality

Marriage equality came to five more states, but more likely eleven today. Congrats to everyone in Indiana, Wisconsin, Virginia, Utah, and Oklahoma, and keeping my fingers crossed for the Carolinas, West Virginia, Colorado, Wyoming, and Kansas.

Me and the Ice Bucket Challenge

Posted on Sunday, 24th August, 2014

Here I am, taking the ice bucket challenge. I have challenged Vladimir Putin, Kim Jong Un, and Mahmoud Ahmadinejad.